Nature Walks

It’s one of those places that’s so close by, somewhere that you’ve always visited, somewhere that you created many memories, and somewhere that you almost forgot about.

After three years, I finally revisited Erindale Park behind UTM.

Swimming Days

Before I knew about anything else about UTM, I was only there once a year every November for a swim meet during high school. My swim team and I would spend the day at the pool, unable to leave the area, let alone the building. As each swim meet ended around 1pm, we would eat lunch in the food court upstairs while we waited for our ride.

While we waited, we made it a tradition to go for a nature walk every year behind the RAWC parking lot. A little open section of a fence, followed by a little trek downhill led to the Credit River and Erindale Park. Since it was November, I remember snow covering the ground as I slipped down the path to the park. There was a road we would to follow beside the river, then pass a bridge and up a hill.

Walking along the trail, we sang Disney songs and laughed at how terrible we sang. “A Whole New World” from Aladdin, “Under the Sea” from The Little Mermaid, and “Hakuna Matata” from the Lion King were only just the few. This became our once-a-year kind of tradition that made us a team. Between the new and old members, no one judged. We all had fun just being ourselves.

University Days

My high school friend and I went for a walk during our four hour break. It was a beautiful day to go for a nature walk. The bright sun, the clear clouds, and the occasional cool breeze was my perfect type of weather.

Walking the same way, through that open section of the fence, down by the river made me reminisce on my swimming years. All my teammates I used to talk to, the laughs we shared and the songs we sang. Because of these memories, nature walks became one of my favourite things to do. It helps me relax and de-stress from everything in my life. The birds and the river soothes and empties my mind. Best of all, the natural lighting and the Credit River lends itself to be photographed incredibly.

Photoshoot Days

I find when there are days where the sun shines brightly, the sky is the best blue, and the clouds are clear, nature seems to be at its finest. This means, it’s perfect for pictures.

Here’s what you should do when you want nice photos of you in nature:

  1. Find a nice place.

Look for a place that has a good lighting and a nice scenery. I picked this bridge that crossed over the river. It had a nice symmetrical structure above it and looked picture-worthy.

img_7466

  1. Pick a couple poses.

Think of how you want to look in your picture, where you want to stand, or what you want to be doing. I chose to do different handstands, standing in front but looking away, my back to the camera, and some split jumps.

  1. Have your friend hold your camera at a good angle.

Take in consideration how you want your photo to be placed. Do you want your whole body or half in the picture? More sky or less ground? I wanted a full body shot of me in the middle, with equal sky and ground proportions, without cutting my shoes off.

  1. Make sure no one else is in your picture.

You don’t want any strangers ruining your picture. Photo-bombs just destroy the whole picture and are almost always noticeable. I waited until no one was crossing the bridge, even if it took at least five minutes of waiting for people to leisurely stroll by.

  1. Take your pictures continuously, one after another.

Have your friend take a couple pictures at a time so you have copies to see which ones look best. You want to pose for a moment and then switch it up every couple seconds to create variety. After each pose, I would wait for my friend to take a couple shots, then slowly transition to a different one. With my handstands, I try to hold the position as long as I can and have my friend burst the shot (holding the camera button so it takes multiples at once) on my phone.

At the end of the day, you’ll have a whole selection of photos to choose from. That way, you can pick your favourites, save it and delete the ugly ones.

With some good pictures, they can make you look amazing and create moments. Each moment becomes a memory that can last long, don’t you think? Comment below if you think so.

Take Something Old, and make it Something New.

Something Old: Nature Walks at the Erindale Park.

Something New: Experiment photography with poses and natural lighting.

Rate: 7/10 ♥

 

3 thoughts on “Nature Walks

  1. Definitely a great location. The Credit River is a gem in Mississauga, conveniently located behind Utm. I am happy you have such fond memories of the place. I hope you have many more! Nice post, I liked your lists and advice when taking pictures. Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

